Administration Campus Map Faculty/Staff Mission Student Learning Objectives Public Documents School Profile Special Distinctions
Athletics Athletic Packet Online Registration Athletic Achievements Athletes in the News Coaches Information Fall Sports Winter Sports Spring Sports North Bay League Request for P.E. Credits for Sports Support Puma Athletics
Academic Achievements AP and Honors Programs California Scholarship Federation Counseling Departments Library Information Services Cyber High Biliteracy Seal for Diploma
Arts Gallery Band Choir Dance Visual Art
Alumni Hall of Fame Attendance Bell Schedule Block Schedule/Final Exam Calendar Clubs Ed Code Summary Health Puma Peers Puma Prensa Student Activities (ASB) Student of the Month Student Store MCHS Student Handbook Yearbook
MCHS Parent Groups MCHS Parents Association Band Boosters English Learners Advisory Committee (ELAC) Performing and Fine Arts Committee (PFAC) Project Grad Puma Athletic Boosters (PAB) Schools Plus Site Council Who's Who of Parent Groups
Home Page Logo

Attendance

SRCS High School Attendance Requirements Information

Procedures

Procedures

Regular, on-time attendance contributes to the academic success of our students. In the event of an absence, students and parents should take responsibility for following this procedure:

  • The parent should call the Attendance Office at 528-5363 or 528-5362 the same day the student is absent.  Please note that this is a 24 hour number so please call us as soon as you know your student will be absent.
  • Unless the parent/guardian knows ahead of time exactly how many days the student is going to be absent, the parent should call in each day of absence.
  • If it is impossible for the parent to call the school, the student must bring in a signed note from the parent the first day he/she returns to school.
  • Students who leave campus during the school day must check out with the Attendance Office.  If a student fails to check out before leaving, their absence cannot be cleared.

Checking Attendance

If you would like to check your student’s attendance for the day, call the parentlink system at 1-866-208-5273 after 4:30 pm. Select “1” to hear messages sent home. Enter your 10 digit telephone number followed by the “pound” sign.

Policies

Unless exempted, all California students must attend school in a regular full-time program or a continuation program until they are 18 years of age or graduated from high school. If a student is absent, the school must be notified of the reason for the absence.

Parents/guardians are requested to telephone the Attendance Office at 528-5362 to explain a student’s absence. A note should be returned with the student on the day following the absence and brought to the Attendance Office before school, at break or lunch, or after school. Notes will not be accepted when classes are in session. The note must be legible and include the student’s first and last name, student identification number, date(s) absent, and reason(s) for the absence(s). It is considered a tardy if the student arrives at school between 8:00 a.m. - 8:09 a.m. No notes/phone calls will be accepted for a tardy.

Absences, which are not cleared or excused through the Attendance Office within 10 school days, are considered cuts. Cuts are also issued if a student fails to check out with either the Health or Attendance office before leaving campus. After a student attains fourteen (14) days of medical absences, medical verification will be required.

An automated caller will inform parents of absences marked that day and not cleared by note or phone call. This communication is to keep parents apprised and to correct any possible classroom or clerical errors.

An 18 year-old student may write his/her own notes only if they have a permission form signed by a parent/legal guardian and the principal on file. You may request this form at the Attendance Office. Warning: Parents and 18 year-old students take care to clear all of your absences as stated in this section. Failure to do so may result in a loss of credit.

The following are designated as lawful absences: illness; medical, dental, or legal appointments; religious observances; death in the immediate family; school business; and authorized field trips. The following are designated as unlawful absences: willful absence from school without parental knowledge and absence from school without acceptable cause with parental knowledge.


Credit Attendance Policy

Excused Absences

A student's absence shall be excused for the following reasons:

1.    Personal illness

2.    Quarantine under the direction of a county or city health officer

3.    Medical, dental, optometry, or chiropractic appointment

4.    Attendance at funeral services for a member of the immediate family, which shall be limited to one day if the service is conducted in California or three days if the service is conducted out of state. Immediate family shall be defined as mother, father, grandmother, grandfather, spouse, son/son in- law, daughter/daughter-in-law, brother, sister, or any relative living in the student's immediate household.

5.    Jury duty in the manner provided by law

6.    The illness or medical appointment during school hours of a child to whom the student is the custodial parent

7.    Upon advance written request by the parent/guardian and the approval of principal or designee, justifiable personal reasons including, but not limited to:

Appearance in court, Attendance at a funeral service, Observation of a holiday or ceremony of his/her religion, Attendance at religious retreats not to exceed four hours per semester, Attendance at an employment conference, Attendance at an educational conference on the legislative or judicial process offered by a nonprofit organization, Service as a member of a precinct board for an election pursuant to Elections Code 12302

8.    Participation in religious exercises or to receive moral and religious instruction in accordance with district policy. In such instances, the student shall attend at least the minimum school day and the student shall be excused for this purpose on no more than four days per school month.


Method of Verification  

When a student who has been absent returns to school, he/she shall present a satisfactory explanation verifying the reason for the absence. Absences shall be verified by the student's parent/guardian, other person having control of the minor, or the student if age 18 or older.

The following methods may be used to verify student absences:

1.    Written note, fax, or email from parent/guardian or parent representative.

2.    Conversation, in person or by telephone, between the verifying employee and the student's parent/guardian or parent representative. The employee shall subsequently record the following:

a.       Name of student

b.       Name of parent/guardian or parent representative

c.        Name of verifying employee

d.       Date(s) of absence

e.        Reason for absence

3.    Visit to the student's home by the verifying employee, or any other reasonable method, which establishes the fact that the student was absent for the reasons stated. The employee shall document the verification and include the information specified in item #2 above.

4.    Physician's verification.

a.    When excusing students for confidential medical services or verifying such appointments, district staff shall not ask the purpose of such appointments but may contact a medical office to confirm the time of the appointment.

b.    When a student has had 14 absences in the school year for illness verified by methods listed in #1-3 above, any further absences for illness shall be verified by a physician.

5.    Unexcused Absences in High School

6.    When a student has had 20 unexcused hours of absence for a 5-unit course in one semester, the student shall not receive any credit for that course and shall receive a grade of F. A total loss of credit warning letter will be sent to parents after the 6th, 10th, and 16th hour of unexcused absence.

Because of the direct impact on student credit, families, and health/dental care providers are advised to schedule appointments on days and times that do not conflict with student attendance. When it is impossible to do so, appointments should be distributed among the class periods rather than focusing at one time period in order to avoid excessive absences for any given class period. It is important for each student to keep track of her/his attendance. A student may obtain a printout from the Attendance Office. In addition, parents are invited to check the student’s attendance status at any time.

 

Attendance office email can be found on the Administration page under Front Office Staff.  Click here.


Early Dismissal Procedures

Occasionally a student may have to leave school prior to the regular dismissal time due to certain situations, such as doctor/dental/court appointments. Students must:

1.    Bring a detailed and legible note with student name and ID number as well as parent/guardian phone number to the Attendance Office before 8:00 a.m.

2.    Sign out through the Attendance Office or Health Office and obtain a pass to leave campus.

3.    Sign in on the form located in the Attendance Office window if returning to school the same day.


Homework Assignments

For legitimate absences of at least three days, arrangements can be made through the Attendance Office for homework assignments to be sent home. All work must be made up within three days. Students may request homework via e-mail to the attendance office and may e-mail their teachers.  Attendance office email can be found on the Administration page under Front Office Staff.  Click here.

 

Closed Campus

MCHS is a closed campus. After arrival, students may not leave at any time except with proper school permission. Students who leave will be referred to an administrator.


Tardiness and Consequences

Punctuality is an essential life skill; tardiness is disruptive to the educational process. Five minutes is allowed between classes. 

 

Tardy Policy:  Students will have 3 days to serve their assigned detention. If a student fails to serve the detention in 3 days, they will be given a second detention and 5 days to serve both. If the student fails to serve the detentions, they will be assigned 5 morning detentions. If the student still does not serve the detention, the student will be suspended for one day from school.   

Copies of all referrals for no-shows are mailed home to parents. 

 

The Attendance Office will not accept notes from home for tardiness. If a student is later than ten minutes to a first period class, this is considered a cut. For all following periods, being over five minutes late will be marked as a cut.